The only presents I give are books

WP_20150504_001

The only presents I give are books. My memory is such that I have occasionally (often, he would say) given my son the same book in consecutive years, which is why he was doing his own choosing when I wrote about him recently. Today I purchased for a young friend about to turn 18, Fay Weldon’s Mischief (2015). I haven’t read it so no review, but I thought that particularly in light of our discussions about feminism in the 70s I should share Weldon’s Introduction:

During the four decades over which these stories were written the relationship between man and women in the West has changed out of all recognition. In the seventies women still endured the domestic tyranny of men, in the eighties we found our self esteem, in the nineties we lifted our heads and looked about, and in the noughties – well, we went out to work. We had to.

This young friend has balked at my choices in the past and may well do with Weldon. In revenge last year she gave me Kris Jenner’s … and All Things Kardashian. Though, unfortunately for her devious scheme I read it straight away, with some enjoyment. I understand this still doesn’t make me cool and I am not yet sure why Kim Kardashian’s bum is a ‘thing’ in popular culture.

In passing, I have ordered two books for another (daughter’s) birthday following their reviews in recent blogs A Wrong Turn at the Office of Unmade Lists, Jane Rawson (Whispering Gums) and Heat and Light, Ellen van Neerven (The Resident Judge of Port Phillip). These two I should get to read eventually, and am looking forward to it.

7 thoughts on “The only presents I give are books

  1. I love buying books as gifts (and love receiving them too). I do buy other things, but books are my very favourite gifts to buy. I hope your daughter loves those books, both of which I’ve read. (Thanks for the link).

    Like

  2. Struck it lucky once anyway. She loves My Brilliant Career and “we” are doing an assignment together on MF next term in an English unit in the last year of her psych degree.

    The book she liked least was a Kathy Acker when she was 18 (she’s 30 something now) and I thought she might be a writer. But I enjoyed it.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

