Goodbye from Vanilla, Christine Mathieu

I am putting up a review of Goodbye from Vanilla (2006) a) because Bron was kind enough to add my last review, Cut, to her list of AusReadingMonth reviews; and b) because I may well have the only copy in existence.

There are quite a number of books on my shelves that I didn’t know that I had – and quite I few that I thought I had that I don’t seem to – and in looking for an unchallenging read a couple of weeks ago I came across this one that I had bought six or seven years ago in a job lot from a closing down secondhand bookshop.

The publisher, Littlefox of Fremantle WA has no presence that I can locate on the web; and nor does the book. The author, Christine Mathieu is an academic or teacher who seems to have written no other fiction. Apparently, “while in Spain, at the turn of the millenium, she began writing Goodbye from Vanilla in a fit of nostalgia for the old port of Fremantle where she lived in the 1980s” probably while a grad student in Anthropology at nearby Murdoch Uni.

The novel is set in the Humanities school of the fictitious O’Connor University (named for the engineer who famously built Fremantle Harbour and the water pipeline to the Goldfields); in Fremantle and its suburbs; and, briefly, in the Goldfields north of Kalgoorlie. This is not auto fiction, I don’t think, though the protagonist Doucette Ferré, would seem to have in her a lot of Mathieu, the author. Doucette, incidentally explains her name as derived from Don Quixote’s Dulcinea, though I’d be surprised if it’s not also a French in-joke on ignorant Australians (like me).

Milly’s brother was doing his PhD in Education, and I think lecturing, at Murdoch in the first half of the 1980s so I am sending this on to him to see if he recognises any of the situations or people.

Doucette’s proposed doctoral dissertation has the provisional title, A Feminist Critique of the Origins of the Third Republic: Women, the Economics of Sexuality and the Making of French Democracy. I tell you this because Mathieu comes up with some impressive supporting detail, but don’t worry, the novel is in the main a lighthearted satire of University life, with a wide cast and lots of complicated, not to say ridiculous, plot lines.

And we also know why the brutal treatment of justice that followed the worst massacre of 19th century Western Europe [following the Paris Commune] was brought to bear with such vicious savagery upon the most disadvantaged of all, the proletarian women of Paris. Because revolutionary women had dared strike at the very heart of the bourgeoisie, and the horror of the misogynist bourgeois is nowhere more clearly expressed than in those infamous words of Alexandre Dumas who wrote that the female communards resembled real women, only when they were dead.

from Doucette’s dissertation

It is important to recognise that thirty-something Doucette is chronically short of funds, good-looking, sexy and getting a lot of action and her best friend, school teacher Clara, is not (except sometimes with Doucette’s most recent ex-boyfriend, which Doucette doesn’t know). The male lead is Ricky, an Italian-Australian in his late twenties, not at uni, working in his Uncle Leo’s Italian cafe on The Esplanade, handsome, a player, but whose latest girlfriend, Susie, has just discovered she is pregnant. This could be a play – the whole cast rotate constantly through Leo’s Cafe Vinci.

Doucette has a teenage daughter, from a very young pregancy, who conveniently for the plot, follows her own much older boyfriend offstage to Sydney.

Other characters are head of Humanities, Fay E Payne, who it seems gives good marks to girl students for sex, and later in the novel has an ongoing rort whereby grad student grants are not paid out but instead go to fund her lifestyle; Dr David Finch, a lecturer in Humanities hanging out for tenure, American, gay, and it turns out, the writer of a bawdy, unpublished memoir. He is stuck in Perth because he is insanely in love with “a Cottesloe boy, a sous-chef at Paul’s”. (Cottesloe is the next but one beach suburb to the north of Freo); Alex Smith-Moreski, a short, lame, indie film-maker who is hopelessly in love with Doucette; Paul, an older anthropologist who is actually a secret agent with ASIO or the Federal Police; Professor David Hobbes, retirement age and the owner of a fine old house; and lots of others, in and out of each other’s beds like a French farce – I wonder if it actually is, and I missed it.

Doucette falls for an “extraordinarily handsome” student, Akito Foot (an Australian whose mother named him after a Japanese dog breed), 39, ex band member, ex-rich, who is aiming for an MBA so he can be rich again, and who keeps rejecting Doucette because she has no money, until he doesn’t.

Alex makes a movie in Prof Hobbes’ big house starring Doucette and Ricky; Paul gets Akito a job as a cleaner in a mine 600 km in a straight line north of Kalgoorlie – a road which I was on yesterday (Saturday) and regard as hilly and windy, but which I can see why a Frenchwoman might not; Doucette gets a grant to follow up her dissertation in Paris; Paul solves the smuggling case which he has been sure all along Akito holds the clue to; various people end up with other people, some happily. It’s a romp. I’m sure you’d all like it, if only I didn’t have the last remaining copy.

.

Christine Mathieu, Goodbye from Vanilla, Littlefox, Fremantle, 2006. 372pp

The title relates to the sorry fact that if you want to sample all the flavours in the ice cream parlour then you might have to say goodbye to the one constant, vanilla.

28 thoughts on “Goodbye from Vanilla, Christine Mathieu

    • Well that’s good news and thanks for looking. Below, you say 2nd ed. which is also good news. I guess I’m not the only person to have read it after all.

      AustLit says Littlefox ‘founded Dec. 2006. Fitzroy South Australia’ but the information in my presumably first ed. copy pub. in 2006 is ‘Littlefox, 8/35 High St, Fremantle’, which Google Maps says in the Milkmaid Coffee Bar (although the name on the window appears to say Pizza). I’ll have to go down for a look

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Fascinating when long-forgotten books like this turn up out of obscurity.
    There’s a Christine Mathieu at Goodreads with a few books to her name, but they may be different authors with the same name.

    Like

  2. Doucette means “sweet dish” I believe. I looked it up because I felt it might have something to do with “sweet”. Does that sound like an intentional ironic or satiric name for her?

    I do like a campus novel, but again, this sounds more plot driven than I’d like, or, is satire to the fore? Akito Foot makes me laugh.

    Littlefox has me wondering. There is so little out there about it, and yet, every now and then something pops up (if austlit and elsewhere is a guide to the inventory) – one of those hybrid-selfpublisher sort of presses? a little independent “we only do what we like every now and then” sort of presses? Christine Mathieu appears with a couple of books there. Is she behind it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sweet dish (and I assume you don’t mean dessert plate) sounds just right for the way she looks. I think it’s a pretty standard campus novel: the main characters are slightly exaggerated and the plots just silly enough to be amusing rather than suspensful. I’ve spent a lot of time in Fremantle, where Milly lived and owned a restaurant (still going) while I was off doing other things, and it is lovingly and accurately described.

      No doubt we will run into Littlefox all over the place now its name is in our heads. What I can do is ask at Bill’s, a very good secondhand bookshop just across the street from the address in the book.

      Like

      • We’ll I’m wondering if it’s a play on dessert plate … but now I see it’s Urban Dictionary meaning – female s**t! I think I’ll back out.

        Do ask Bill … so interesting.

        Like

    • I saw Alice Miller in my researches, which is why I wrote ‘academic or teacher’, though she would seem overqualified to be a teacher, perhaps she’s the founder.

      I expected my then bachelor BiL to know all the best looking female staff, but he says (or claims) the name is not familiar.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m always baffled by these academic books where everyone is having it off with everyone else. Maybe my colleagues are just very straightlaced (or it’s going on around me and I’m oblivious), but I think we’re all too busy teaching and marking to be having lots of affairs! Maybe a culture difference between departments or fields? Anyway, this does sound like a romp – probably not for me, which is good, since you have (almost) the only copy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I might have overstated it with ‘everybody’! I don’t suppose academics get more or less than anybody else, but it spices up the novel. I finally thought to check Goodbye from Vanilla on Goodreads and it has zero reviews and one 3 star rating, so that makes two of us who have read it – it deserves better than that.

      Liked by 1 person

    • The only one I can think of, Lou, was the music professor who married one of his grad students. This was my freshman year in college, so we’re talking 19 years ago. When I was teaching, I never saw much in the way of flitting around, either. More grading papers and wondering when they will next see their own spouses, let alone someone else’s.

      Liked by 1 person

      • After my first three first years – I did five altogether – I didn’t attend uni except for actual classes, as I was always working full time. And my M.Litt was completely ‘remote’, seven years by correspondence and phone call tutorials with a university – Central Queensland – on the other side of the country.

        Like

      • Oh, wow, that sounds interesting, your Master’s degree. As for being a student who isn’t really on campus, that I understand. For my interpreting program I’m only there when I need to be, especially since I don’t think “student life” applies to someone who is nearly 40.

        Like

    • There was plenty of that going on when I went back to university in 1973 to finish my abandoned degree! And plenty of teacher-student bonking too.

      Like

  4. There is something both endearing and hopeless about having a wonderful book that other people are unlikely to read. I felt that way about the Catherine Copp book I reviewed, which was by a local author who became Deaf. It really captured my own experience, level of hearing-aid technology varying, and I wanted everyone around me to read it to understand me better.

    Like

  5. I enjoy novels (and movies, too, actually) in which the characters all move through a cafe or bar, restaurant or shop: it all seems so relatable. Do you still remember which books you still have on your shelves from this same closing-out sale? I wonder if, should there be others, you’ve more long-time shelfsitters yet to discover from that same haul.

    Like

    • A lot of them are off to one side, basically Australiana – popular NonFiction, bush poetry, biographies. But there are plenty of others on my Australian fiction shelves, mostly from the 1930s-1990s. I have plenty to read when I retire.

      My brother in law wrote to me today. He said some of the situations were familiar, but that the geography felt off and also the timing, as Murdoch, Perth’s second university, on which OCU is presumably based, only got going in the mid 1970s.

      Like

Leave a comment