AWW Gen 2 Week Reminder

Australian Women Writers Gen 2 Week 13-19 Jan. 2019

deliverymanagerservlet
Bertha Lawson by F. Rodway c.1913

Sue (Whispering Gums) asked me to remind her that AWW Gen 2 was coming up, so here you go Sue, you have one week. In one comment I think you said you had a Louise Mack to read, but I can’t find it (the comment) again. Michelle Scott Tucker has already sent me her guest post on Mary Grant Bruce’s Billabong books and I warn you all, she sets a high standard.

As a sort of introduction I have a post on Vance Palmer’s The Legend of the Nineties – sort of, because he barely mentions women at all – which I will put up this Friday, then I think I will put Michelle’s up on Sunday night. After that I will put up/link to posts as they come in. I am working on Miles Franklin’s Joseph Furphy for my main post, though I might try to read/review Louise Mack’s Teens as well.

Apart from these – off the top of my head – there will be posts on works by Rosa Praed, Miles Franklin, Henry Handel Richardson, Katharine Susannah Prichard, so it’s looking good! No Barbara Baynton though I’m open to being surprised, and between us we’ve done a fair bit on her in the past.

I’ve changed the image at the top of the AWW Gen 2 page to the portrait (above) of Henry and Bertha Lawson’s daughter, Bertha by Florence Aline Rodway (1881–1971) after I saw her mentioned by Palmer as being ‘encouraged’ by Archibald of the Bulletin. She was a portraitist of some repute and Art Gallery NSW has quite a few of her paintings. If you know of other women painters from this period I’d be interested to hear about them.

Please let me know when you have done a review, particularly if you think I might not otherwise see it, and I’ll share it or at least make sure it’s included in the end of week wrap and that it’s linked from the AWW Gen 2 page.

 

13 thoughts on “AWW Gen 2 Week Reminder

  1. Haha thanks Bill. I must say that I was starting to panic that it was this week coming. I was going to check your blog, but now I don’t have to. (I love that my wish is your command – os some such!) I have just been packing for our annual trip to Thredbo and had already packed Louise Mack in readiness. It’s her Girls together. Probably going to be fluffy/girly but it’s of its era so will be interesting regardless I think. I will have two reviews to post before it, but I should definitely be able to post it during the designated week.

    I have a long journalistic piece by Baynton in my folders somewhere but I can’t promise to get to it. If I can I will.

    Like

    • Teens which I have been reading off and on and Girls Together were written in 1897 and 1898 respectively. Teens is very YA, not to mention immature so I could imagine Girls Together being much the same – I wonder if it’s the same girls a year or two later. Enjoy your holiday. I’m enjoying mine, reading and writing when I’m not chasing around after Ms 15 (her mother’s camping at Denmark, which you must try one day).

      Like

      • What, camping in Denmark? Not me! I don’t camp. But, I should go to Denmark as I have ancestors from there – a great grandfather (whom I never met) from there. He ended up in Gympie Queensland.

        Anyhow, I’m glad you are having a good break. I certainly will in Thredbo – walking, resting/reading, and eating.

        Like

  2. I’m all set and ready to go, just finished off a book today so will be starting KSP’s The Pioneers (1915) tonight.
    Just a suggestion: like Sue, I couldn’t remember when the week was and I checked the AWW2 heading on the menu for a post which gave a date. There was only one post there this morning and it didn’t give the date. So how about adding a header or footer to all AWW2 posts, even the old ones so that anyone else searching can find it?
    BTW Just to whet your appetite: KSP’s The Pioneers won the Australian section of the 1000 pound Dominion Prize in 1915!

    Like

    • Is that the same, Lisa, as “the Hodder and Stoughton All Empire Literature Prize for Australasia” in 1915, which is what I wrote in my review? That was 8 years ago, though, so I can’t recollect where I got the info from. Maybe from the introduction to the book.

      Anyhow, I hope you enjoy it Lisa – it’s a book of its times, and very much Prichard.

      Like

    • I admit I had trouble finding the date too. I’ll go back later tonight and add a header. Thousand pounds was 32 weeks pay when I started work in 1969. I wonder how many years pay that was in 1915.

      Like

      • Oh, how stupid am I. I should have realised that – BUT, so, no western staters would be unwilling to rough it? Only eastern staters are like that?! (Anyhow, I admit to being an eastern stater unwilling to rough it. I can glamp with the best of them, as we did in Arnhem Land, but not camp. I do like a bed, a toilet nearby and, preferably not to erect my own shelter and be at the mercy of the weather god quite so closely!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment