Their Eyes were watching God, Zora Neale Hurston

North America Project 2022

A hurricane is ripping through the night. Three or four African-American workers are huddled in a shack in the Florida Everglades, waiting for the levees holding back the waters to give way, or the roof and the walls shielding them from the crashing rain to disappear. Hurston writes, they were not staring into the dark, “their eyes were watching God”.

I listened to this seminal American novel yesterday (as I write), driving down from Port Hedland, and now I must get my thoughts down on ‘paper’ before they disappear into the ether. Their Eyes were watching God (1937) was Hurston’s second novel. I reviewed her first, Jonah’s Gourd Vine (1934) – a fictionalized account of her father’s life – a couple of years ago, and concluded by hoping that her next would have a female protagonist, and here we are.

I can’t tell you how the novel begins because a lot of it is dialogue and the dialogue is all dialect and it takes a while before you (I) work out what is being said, but once you do it flows. Anyway, the beginning doesn’t matter, it’s mostly just Janie and Phoebe talking, and then we get Janie’s story and Janie grows up and does life and goes away and finally comes back and sits down and talks to Phoebe and we’re back where we started.

What interested me most about the dialogue was why did Hurston choose to write that way. Maybe two thirds of the narrative is carried forward by discussions between the main characters; but more than that, secondary characters and secondary issues are also accorded great chunks of dialogue. Hurston is writing/recording talk for talk’s sake: describing the give and take during card games, or all the teasing the completely peripheral Matt suffers about the way he treats his mule.

It is clear that Hurston is saying ‘I am Black and this is what being Black sounds like’. I can’t tell from my limited American reading how close Hurston is to the beginning of Black American Literature, but she must be pretty close. And she is highly educated; an anthropologist; her chosen field is, I think, poor rural Blacks in the South; she is a poet (and playwright); and you would imagine that she is well-read, thoughtful about Modernism, about innovation in literature to more closely represent Black modes of thought and speech.

Hurston (1891-1960) grew up in the self-governed, all-Black community of Eatonville, Florida. Despite some disruptions, especially to her high school education, she made her way to Howard University, where she got her first degree at age 29, and then to Barnard College at Columbia University.

When Hurston arrived in New York City in 1925, the Harlem Renaissance was at its zenith, and she soon became one of the writers at its center. Shortly before she entered Barnard, Hurston’s short story “Spunk” was selected for The New Negro, a landmark anthology of fiction, poetry, and essays focusing on African and African-American art and literature. In 1926, a group of young black writers including Hurston, Langston Hughes, and Wallace Thurman, calling themselves the Niggerati, produced a literary magazine called Fire!! that featured many of the young artists and writers of the Harlem Renaissance.

Wiki

I haven’t read Langston Hughes, and I know I should. And I really haven’t read much on Hurston, except Melanie/GTL on Hurston’s collections of Southern Black folk stories. But my impression at this point in my reading is that Hurston is a thoughtful and innovative writer; not just writing about Black people, her people; but writing with all the rhythms and poetry of everyday Southern Black speech. The working poor had been making their way into Eng.Lit. over the previous century (starting with North and South?) but I wish the US had a Trove (searchable database of all Australian newspapers) and I could see how critics responded to this overthrowing of all the white, middle class values Eng.Lit. holds so dear.

The story, as distinct from the writing, is of a young rural woman, Janie, brought up by her grandmother when her mother deserts her. It stands out in the story-telling that Janie is a quiet, reserved girl, only slowly, over the space of twenty years growing into assertive, independent womanhood; and that you are not told this, but feel it in her speech as she matures.

I’m sure most of you know the story, those of you educated in America will no doubt have dissected it at length. Briefly, her grandmother, dying, worried how Janie will get on without her, marries her off to an older farmer. The farmer treats Janie as just another useful farm animal (Janie is attractive but sex is rarely even implied, let alone discussed). Janie runs off with another guy, Jody Starks.

Starks takes her to Eatonville where he is soon the store owner, property developer and mayor. Janie is expected to work in the store, which she doesn’t enjoy, but is also expected to be a cut above the townspeople when she would rather be of them.

The years pass. Starks dies leaving Janie well off. A handsome younger conman, Tea Cake, courts her and she goes off with him, happily enduring the ups and downs of his erratic life. They end up picking beans in the Everglades. There’s the hurricane, graphically described. And the novel, as I said, draws to an end with Janie returning to Eatonville.

At this point, two thirds of the way through my North American project, I am finding the First Nations/Indigenous writing flat, relatively unemotional, though the stories are important, and the African-American writing vibrant, full of life and poetry. And yes, I’m generalizing off a very small sample. Hurston, like James Baldwin, doesn’t include white characters in her story, but has them off at a distance, a malevolent other; as when, for instance, white men round up Black men to bury the dead after the hurricane, the whites in coffins and the Blacks in mass graves.

Of course, racism is the common theme of the project, the constant reality of Black and Indigenous life under settler colonialism. So while I am enjoying the writing, I am also feeling less and less certain about what I can do, as a settler, to make a difference (and Albomp embracing Shaq O’Neal to promote the Voice to Parliament doesn’t help).

.

Zora Neale Hurston, Their Eyes were watching God, first pub. 1937. Audiobook – Harper Audio, 2004, read by Ruby Dee. 6 hrs 44 min.

24 thoughts on “Their Eyes were watching God, Zora Neale Hurston

  1. I have this on my classics club list, but haven’t read or listened to it yet as I was a bit intimidated by the dialect. I’m glad to know that you got used to it after a bit. As for the emergence of the working poor into English Lit, I think that probably goes to Dickens rather than Gaskell (much as it pains me to admit it!) – A Christmas Carol was more than a decade before North and South. And I also wonder how much Henry Mayhew’s London Labour and the London Poor played a role – not a novel, obviously, but published and widely read in the 1840s.

    Like

    • I don’t always get on with dialect, but when I did pause to think about it I realised I’d been listening for some time without noticing the dialect at all.

      And I did think of Dickens, but in my ignorance I thought Gaskell predated him. As I wrote that, I recalled that Gaskell actually wrote Cranford for Dickens’ magazine. What an idiot!

      Like

    • Not sure if this would offer any encouragement but, in my earlier reading years, I really stumbled with dialect, and it was this book which turned the tide for me: how they say words roll off the tongue, ZNH’s language rolled off the page for me.

      Like

    • I find it interesting that both Hurston and Baldwin take racism as given and let it intrude, or not, in everyday Black lives without making it the point of the story. I wondered what difference growing up in Eatonville made to Hurston – but failed to reach a conclusion.

      Like

      • Growing up in Eatonville made a huge difference to Hurston’s life. She never had a “poor, Black me” attitude and was awfully fond of herself. In fact, she mainly got more criticism from other Black authors for “failing” to write Black people as they saw them: tragic, oppressed, struggling. Hurston saw her early childhood as happy, playful, dreamy. And the culture of talking on the porch of the main store was fundamental to her identity. She would listen to folks spar verbally, trying to outsmart and out-insult each other (the game is called “the dozens”).

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Lou beat me to it Bill, as I wanted to say what about Dickens too!

    That said I love your post, love the way you muse on ideas and what you see going on. It’s over 30 years since I read this book and I am devastated that my beautiful American copy never came back from the person I lent in to over 15 years ago.

    That’s an interesting point you make about First Nations American writing versus Black American. I can’t comment because I havent read enough of the former either. I would love to correct that. I read a short story about First Nations Australians going to a First Nations conference in the USA – but am trying to remember the details – but I seem to recollect hbrance there. It was based, as I recollect, on a real event. It’s one of those stories that captured my attention but I can’t remember the details.

    That reference to post-hurricane burials tells more in one sentence than a whole chapter could doesn’t it!

    Like

    • I bought the Wilenski as a result of your review. I think now that she skates pretty close to speaking for the Indigenous people (with whom I think she worked).

      Melanie studied Hurston for one of her degrees. I hope she comments on the Harlem renaissance, which sounds really interesting. I like picking out trends in literature and I wouldn’t be surprised if you could draw a line from Hurston to Christina Stead’s American period.

      That ‘burial’ sentence goes to Lisa’s point that Hurston manages to convey racism without dwelling on it.

      Like

      • Well, she does, but as I recollect she did work with First Nations Australians over her collection. If, as she says, they were happy with here representation I don’t believe it IS up to us to judge that. But we should be aware, and consider whether such negotiation has taken place. The only way, really, that we as Australians can progress in unifying our nation is by working together not apart, to not be forced into silos. I admired her sincerity and care.

        I meant to mention Nella Parsons’ Passing too – re the Harlem Renaissance.

        Like

      • I’m not sure we are going to, or even should, ‘unify our nation’. I think for the time being anyway we are going to be two nations living on one patch of ground.

        Like

    • As you say in your review, the dialect is consistent, and I soon had no trouble following what was being said. I might go back one day soon and re-listen again to the beginning which I think is largely Hurston glorying in the language.

      Like

  3. It’s interesting that you see Tea Cake as a conman. I definitely had that feeling too, when I first encountered him, because why in the world would a handsome man half Janie’s age want to be with her? But even though she has money, the two of them live as if they don’t when they’re down in the Everglades working. The progression of the novel really demonstrates Janie’s growth into the kind of love she’s looking for. With the farmer there is none. With Jody it’s more about her admiring the respect he garners, until she realizes he doesn’t treat her as an equal. And with Tea Cake, she finds a man who loves and enjoys her, makes her laugh, is sexually satisfying, etc.

    Bill, I really enjoyed this review and thought you added a lot to the conversation. I wonder if you find the Native American stories flat because (to me) when I listen to those stories verbally the tone can be flat, and the stories are very long. That’s part of the culture (well, at least of the tribal people I knew growing up).

    Like

    • Yes, I should have been clearer, Tea Cake lives by his wits, and though I had my heart in my mouth when he apparently cleared off with Janie’s money (to gamble with), he is the husband she needs and never takes advantage -and nor does she! – of the money she has in the bank.

      I am glad I was able to write an enjoyable review of a book with which you are so familiar. I hadn’t even come across Hurston’s name until I read about her in your blog, and she’s such a wonderful, poetic writer.

      Unless something else comes up, my next North American will be Son of a Trickster (I’m pretty sure I can get it on Audible). The Canadians haven’t commented yet, they get very lethargic over summer. I was thinking perhaps I should try First Nations poetry, if they could recommend someone, but I probably couldn’t get it here anyway (except maybe in an ebook?).

      Like

      • Yes, everything about Tea Cake makes you want to assume he’s shady, and I think Hurston did that on purpose. Even though some of his choices would have driven me nuts were he my husband, he also has to match the dynamic between spouses during that time period. I was always fascinated by the section in which he and Janie decide he has to slap her up a bit to carry on their ruse (if that’s the right word). It’s almost like they’re too happy together, and if he doesn’t assert dominance, it can cause problems with their community and his job.

        I don’t know Son of a Trickster. As for Canadian poetry, I would check out ivereadthis.com and search for poetry. She gets all kinds of stuff on her site.

        Like

      • I haven’t had a computer the last few days, my laptop failed at the beginning of a nearly a week away. but now I’m home I’ll check out Ivereadthis in the next couple of days, and thank you for the recommendation.

        I’d forgotten about the slapping. Janie’s relationship with Tea Cake is complicated, fulfilling, and develops over time – it is brilliantly done, I’m sure you agree.

        Like

  4. I read this about a decade ago and adored the use of dialect. I even found myself trying to say some of it out loud just to hear how it rolled around my mouth.
    Janie is such a memorable character – your post has brought her back to life for me.

    I really must get to ZNH’s other books that I have lingering on my TBR pile – I’m keen for me of her magnificent storytelling.

    Like

    • I didn’t think she had many novels, so checked – four, so I have two to go plus autobiography, Dust Tracks on a Road.

      I wouldn’t say I adored the dialect, but I loved that she was writing about talking, which was something I hadn’t thought about before.

      Like

  5. It took me a while also to tune into the dialect – on reflection it would have been a good idea to have listened to at least part of this rather than just rely on imagining how it would sound.
    The introductory scene where they are sitting on the stoop didn’t grab me so I was glad when the story actually got going.
    What struck me was that Janie’s first two husbands treat her as property, to be deployed as they see fit. It’s only TeaCake who treats her as an individual

    Like

    • I think I zoned in and out during the stoop scene. But yes, it did get me used to the dialect. I’m not sure that scene is very important in terms of the story, but it is fascinating when you think that one of the things Hurston is writing about is talking, the poetry of everyday speech.

      I agree. Hurston is very clear about Janie’s priorities. And being loved and respected for herself was number one.

      Like

  6. Hahaha, yes, “we” Canadians do get lethargic over the summer. I’ll be giggling about that for quite some time now. And I’m sure you’re having a good giggle too…as it’s DECEMBER when I finally get ’round to commenting.

    I absolutely loved this book. You’ve made me want to reread it for sure. (I happen to be reading another Florida novel, so that also feels like a nudge in that direction.)

    If you are able to find any of Thomas King’s work (Cherokee/Greek) on audio, I think you might find that his delivery style will be an interesting experience to work into your ideas about how the voice of some Indigenous writers compares to the voice of some African American writers. He’s also done The Massey Lectures on Indigenous Storytelling which are available via podcast on the CBC: https://www.cbc.ca/radio/ideas/the-2003-cbc-massey-lectures-the-truth-about-stories-a-native-narrative-1.2946870

    Very curious to see if you ended up reading the Eden Robinson’s. I think you’d appreciate their pacing while you’re on the road.

    Like

    • Hey Marcie, I never do deal with your comments properly. This one is dated 7 Dec 22 so I’m almost exactly three months late answering. I guess we’re both “lethargic” over the Australian summer.
      Son of a Trickster just zipped along, as you knew it would
      Ok, I’ve just puchased on Audible Trickster Drift and The Inconvenient Indian (the only Thos King they had)

      Like

Leave a comment