Project 2024 – Africa, List

As I wrote last month, my project for 2024 will be to read one Black African work each month with a review to be published (hopefully!) on the last Tuesday. The list below is an update on that post, incorporating your suggestions, for which I am very grateful. More suggestions are always welcome, as will be readalongers, but please don’t feel you have to comment twice.

Although I have labelled this project ‘Africa’, I really mean sub-Saharan. I will leave North Africa for another day, for a possible ‘Middle East’ project.

Looking at the map above reminds me that Thomas Keneally wrote a novel on Eritrea, Towards Asmara (1989), which I very much enjoyed at the time, though I might now question his connection to the events he was reporting.

I see that Karen at BookerTalk is looking at Africa too – “I want to read authors from each of the 53 nation states rather than just novels set in the country” – though as you can see, rather more ambitiously than I am, and probably over a longer timespan. Hopefully, some of our reading will coincide.

My Audible account was up for renewal in November and rather than risk losing credits in the rollover I hurriedly spent six (one Max Barry and five Africans). My new plan gives me 20, plus bonuses, for the coming year.

January’s book will be No Longer at Ease, Chinua Achebe, which, due to serendipity at the library, I have just finished reading. I hope to write an essay comparing it with Black Mischief and maybe also Mr Johnson.

February’s will be The Famished Road, Ben Okri. Months beyond that will be negotiated with potential readalongers and by the sticking of pins. I hope I can both announce them well in advance, and stick to what I announce.

Although I have put one or two books beside each author, I am open to others, with the proviso I would rather they were available through Audible (or old enough to be downloadable).

Reviews for this project will be, as they are for earlier projects, accessible via the Projects menu.

Black African authors (Audible/Owned/Read/Downloadable/Kindle)

AuthorCountryNovelYear
Chinua AchebeMNigeriaNo Longer at Ease1960R
Ben OkriMNigeriaThe Famished Road1991O
Akwaeke EmeziFNigeriaYou Made a Fool of Death with your Beauty2022A
Nnedi OkoraforFNigeria/USAWho Fears Death2010R
Chimamanda Ngozi AdichieFNigeria/USAAmericanah2013R
Chimamanda Ngozi AdichieFNigeria/USAPurple Hibiscus2003
Sefi AttaFNigeria/USAEverything Good Will Come2005
Téju ColeMNigeria/USAOpen City2011
Helon HabilaMNigeriaWaiting for an Angel2004
Ayobami AdebayoFNigeriaA Spell of Good Things2023A
Chibundu OnuzoFNigeria/UKWelcome to Lagos2016
Oyinkan BraithwaiteFNigeria/UKMy Sister the Serial Killer/Thicker than Water2017
Abi DaréFNigeria/UKThe Girl with the Louding Voice2020
Ayobami AdebayoFNigeriaStay With Me2017
Omolola Ijeoma OgunyemiFNigeriaJollof Rice and Other Revolutions2022
Chigozie ObiomaMNigeriaThe Fishermen2015
A. Igoni BarrettMNigeriaBlackass2016
Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’oMKenyaWizard of the Crow2006R
Binyavanga WainainaMKenyaOne Day I will write about this place2012A
Okwiri OduorFKenyaThings They Lost2022
Khadija Abdalla BajaberFKenyaThe House of Rust (UKLG Prize 2022)2021
Maaza MengisteFEthiopia/USAThe Shadow King2019A
Dinaw MengestuMEthiopia/USAChildren of the Revolution2008
Namwali SerpellFZambia/USAThe Furrows2022
Jennifer Nansubuga MakumbiFZimbabweA Girl is a Body of Water2020R
Tsitsi DangarembgaFZimbabweNervous Conditions1988
Tsitsi DangarembgaFZimbabweThe Book of Not2006
Tsitsi DangarembgaFZimbabweThis Mournable Body2020R
NoViolet BulawayoFZimbabweWe Need New Names2013A
Tendai HuchuMZimbabweThe Hairdresser of Harare2010
Nadifa MohamedFSomalia/UKThe Orchard of Lost Souls2013
Yaa GyasiFGhana/USATranscendent Kingdom2020A
Peace Adzo MedieFGhanaHis Only Wife2020K
Abdulrazak GurnahMTanzania/UKParadise1994
Zakes MdaMS AfricaWays of Dying1995
Yewande OmotosoFS AfricaThe Woman Next Door2016
Sisonke MsimangFS Africa/AusThe Resurrection of Winnie Mandela2019
Thomas MofoloMLesothoChaka1925D
Bessie HeadFBotswanaMaru 1971D
Mariama BâFSenegalSo Long a Letter1979
David DiopMSenegal/Fr.At Night All Blood is Black2018
Mohamed Mbougar SarrMSenegal/Fr.Brotherhood2021
James Ng’ombeMMalawiSugarcane with Salt1990K
Paulina ChizianeFMozambiqueThe First Wife2002K
Fatin AbbasFSudan/USAGhost Season (NYT review)2023K
Imbolo MbueFCameroon/USAHow Beautiful We Were2021
Max LobeCameroon/SwitzA Long Way from Douala2021
Memoir
Nelson MandelaMS AfricaLong Walk to Freedom1994
Scholastique MukasongaFRawanda/Fr.Igifu2020
Emmanuel MbolelaMDRC/Neth.Refugee2021
Elizabeth NyamayaroFZimbabweI Am a Girl from Africa2021
Edafe OkporoMNigeria/USAAsylum2022
Nanjala NyabolaFKenyaTraveling While Black (essays)2020
Obadiah MMRawandaDie Walking2021
Aminatta FornaFSierra Leone/Scot.The Devil that Danced on the Water2002

Further lists (and an interview):
Thanks WG, A Bibliography of Anglophone Women Writers in Africa
Hopewellslibriaryoflife, top ten list of novels set in African nations
Lisa at ANZLL, novels with the category ‘Africa’
Global Lit. in Libraries, Zimbabwe month
Ann Morgan, A Year of Reading the World, list (c. 2011)
Marcie at Buried in Print, Africa Reading Challenge, 2013, 2018
Amplify Bookstore (Melbourne), Africa list
Brittle Paper, 100 notable African books of 2023
(from Book Jotter) Africa in Dialogue: The Breadth and Beauty of African Literature: A Dialogue with SarahBelle Selig
(recom. by BIP) Heinemann African Writers Series. 270 titles up to 1985, then many more!
African Arguments, The Best African books of 2023

45 thoughts on “Project 2024 – Africa, List

  1. I ‘ve read a few of these as you know, but I do not at this stage have any of your others on the TBR except for Americanah.
    But I have Bessie Head’s A Question of Power (Botswana) and will try to join in with that because I’ve meaning to read it for years.
    Also
    *Haji Jabir’s Black Foam from Eritrea (would you count that one as sub-Saharan?)
    * Maaza Mengiste’s Beneath the Lion’s Gaze (Ethiopia)
    * Chaka by Thomas Mofolo (Lesotho)
    * Anthills of the Savannah by Chinua Achebe (Nigeria)
    * At Night All Blood is Black by David Diop (Senegal)
    I have quite a few from South Africa, mostly Andre Brink and Nadine Gordimer writing as white activists under apartheid and four by Abdulrazak Gurnah from Tanzania, but I’m unlikely to read many of them because I’m going to try and clear a backlog of Kiwi fiction in 2024 with A Year of reading New Zealand Lit.

    Like

    • Jabir writes in Arabic, so let’s say not sub-Saharan, for the time being anyhow. I’ll add the authors I don’t have to my list. And the Bessie Head if I think I can get a copy.

      Like

      • Great list and project Bill. I have read a few African authors, but not a lot, and I categorise them by country, not continent, so I can’t pull them out as a bunch. Africa is such a big and complex place – which you clearly recognise by at least separating out North Africa. I have been a bit schizophrenic in my categorising of English vs British writers. Should I just lump English, Scottish, Welsh and Northern Irish writers in together as British or should I separate them out?

        Anyhow, all that’s irrelevant. I like this project and if I get an opportunity I will join in somewhere.

        Like

      • WG, I said somewhere else that Marcie suggested I do just Nigeria, which might have given me more insight, but I was looking for an overview, a way to get started on what is clearly a very lively literature (or collection of literatures – though I can’t imagine they don’t feed into each other).

        I thought Karen might jump on you for ‘British’. I think we Australians are close enough to Britain to treat those national literatures separately. Which leads of course to, Is Australian Indigenous a separate Lit.? I think some of its writers are saying yes it is.

        I hope you do join in. Feel free to write and suggest a book and month, especially if I already have it on Audible.

        Like

  2. Excellent list. If you do the Sefi Atta I will read along with that as I want to read that. The Ba. Adiche’s Americanah, Emezi, Gyasi and Daré books are the ones from your list so far that I’ve read and can heartily recommend.

    Like

    • Americanah I didn’t particularly like, and I thought that compared with Okorafor the writing was flat – standard American SF. Marcie is inclined to think that was a feature, not a flaw which is why I’m thinking about Purple Hibiscus, to give her another try.

      I’ll check out Sefi Atta and see if I can get a copy.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. BTW I’m getting a pop up message here, inviting me to sign up for new posts. I’ve been an email subscriber for years now, so I don’t know why that’s happening except that I don’t seem to have received notification of this new post in my email.
    Looks like WP is playing games with us…

    Like

    • I’ve been going over all my regular follows to make sure they’re still working. Not all of them were, and I suspect that if some of my older, largely inactive follows suddenly post no one will see.

      Like

      • Does it have anything to do with your side menu ‘Blogs I Follow’?, that is, does WP put those blogs there for you if you subscribe to them, and conversely not have them there if you don’t and not send you updates for the missing ones?

        Like

      • When they instituted the new comment box, I think you had to refollow, but the sidebar was unchanged. Jennifer from Tas is still in mine, but I don’t receive notifications, and it was the same with Liz Dexter and others.

        Like

  4. So good to discover that our minds are running on parallel tracks with this project Bill. I’ve read several of the books you list –
    both the Adiche’s (Americanah is not SF by the way);
    His Only Wife (thought it was poor)
    Abi Daré – really enjoyed that
    The Woman Next Door – OK
    Long walk to Freedom – superb
    We Have No Names – enjoyed that

    I gave up on The Famished Road. Thought it was just dire ….

    Like

  5. If I can find Americanah again in the library I’m going to have to reread it. I must have had it mixed up in my head with the Nnedi Okorafors I read around the same time. I only added His Only Wife yesterday, I thought it sounded interesting. I’ll check your review
    https://bookertalk.com/his-only-wife-by-peace-ado-medie/
    You haven’t entirely put me off.
    Let’s hope we don’t agree about The Famished Road!
    One of your readers asked for suggestions, perhaps we can choose a book for later in the year and compare our impressions.

    Like

  6. What a great project, Bill. Black African writing is a glaring gap in my reading life (I’ve read plenty of white African writers) so might see if I can squeeze in a few reads and join along. I have both the Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie novels in my TBR.

    Like

  7. I just saw this today: https://brittlepaper.com/2023/11/announcing-brittle-papers-100-notable-african-books-of-2023/
    It’s not really very useful in the sense that it doesn’t tell you anything about the books or the authors and may well have been written by AI. There’s nothing to indicate what their criteria were for inclusion. Even the link to the actual list has only a brief blurb which links to Amazon. Anyone interested has to do the work of finding credible reviews for herself.
    But still, you may find something there.

    Like

  8. When I first started reading your list, I thought maybe you got stuck in Nigeria, or were only given recommendations for Nigeria. I’m not sure what the catalyst was, but around 2000 there was a big influx of students from Nigeria coming to study on the US. Maybe something political.

    Like

    • I don’t know Nigerian politics, I’m not sure it’s been in the papers since ‘Biafra’ in the 1960s (civil war and famine, if I remember correctly). But it is possible that wealth arising out of oil production, however problematic Shell has been for Nigeria, led to large numbers of the new middle class being able study overseas – in the US, UK and Canada. The little fiction I have read points to easy movement without stating the cause.

      Like

  9. Very exciting! I’m curious about the ones I’ve not read and, of those I have already read, most of them are appealing as rereads too (those which aren’t, it’s a matter of access). There are so many of interest, I can’t single out any in particular. My reading plans for 2023 were backlist oriented (pre-2000 mostly) and this year didn’t unfold as expected, so I’m still deciding whether to repeat my 2023 goals but, even if I take that route, you’ve got plenty of inspiring choices here from earlier decades too. Did you find that the more you looked, the more you found? Was it hard to narrow your list?

    Like

    • I certainly found the more I looked the more I found including the list you sent me (thank you!) a month or so ago which I have just included. We now have 55 titles, plus the lists at the end, so that is a considerable resource.

      I think we should read UKLG 2022 Prize winner The House of Rust by Khadija Abdalla Bajaber, don’t you. Looks it up – available on Audible Aust.

      Like

      • Maybe we should plan to do so not long before the UKLG list is announced for next year? (It’s not readily available to me, so I’ll have to plan.)

        The Heinemann list would make for such an outstanding project. It’ll send you on a second-hand bookstore crawl for sure though.

        Like

      • Suits me.

        Perth over the last decade has become almost entirely bereft of secondhand bookshops (The one remaining, that I know of, is Bill’s in Fremantle).
        Sorry, forgot Elizabeth’s, also in Freo.

        Like

  10. I am not aware of any African authors I have read in the past, but I did pick up Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Half of a Yellow Sun in the swap street library this week. I see this author on your list. I might get onto this next year sometime,

    Like

  11. Catching up on old posts sitting in my inbox.
    I have The Fishermen and Americanah on the shelf, I might join you. (I’m interested in David Diop too)
    Happy reading, it’s a wonderful project and a great way to discover Africa.

    Like

    • Good to hear from you Emma, and on a weekday too! I’m making very little progress on choosing what to read, and in which month, beyond the first two, but I am looking forward to all this new-to-me reading.

      Like

Leave a comment