One Good Turn, Mary Leunig

One Good Turn, by Mary Leunig.

Mary Leunig (1950- ) is the younger sister of soppy, much loved newspaper cartoonist Michael Leunig. We (Milly and I) have had her earlier savagely funny books of drawings forever – There’s No Place Like home (1982) and A Piece of Cake (1986). She put out a couple of others in the 90s but One Good Turn (2018) is her first book for a quarter of a century, and what a beauty it is!

The kids had unrestricted access to my bookcase and could often be found with their heads over a Mary Leunig illustration trying to work out what was going on (see illustration on the right below). My favourite was a of a young housewife at the sink , a child tugging at her leg, dreaming of the white knight coming to rescue her, her arms blood to the elbows, plunged unnoticed into the insinkerator.

mary l

Leunig lives with her artist husband on a bush block in north eastern Victoria and her drawings reflect that, she draws her life and what she thinks about life. She draws personally and she draws politically. She draws her battle to keep her unborn son against the constant pressure to give it up for adoption, through to Prime Minister Julia Gillard’s formal apology to young mothers in Parliament in 1990. She draws taking out her kids to show them off when they are little, through to taking them out with machine guns when they “grow up to be fascists”. In a double page spread she finally gets the recognition she deserves “by shooting my brother in the bum” (she must have used an expanding bullet as poor Michael loses an awful lot of organs through a gaping exit wound).

Milly sees a progression in the stories told by the pictures – I gave this to her for her birthday last year, but couldn’t persuade her to write a review – I couldn’t, but can perceive a theme: That the upper classes are bastards, working people and women especially do it tough, and moments of enjoyment may still be found.

All of the pictures bear looking at, over and over. For ‘simple’ drawings they have extraordinary depth and complexity. There is a picture of richly gowned prelate lying face down, arms wide, crucified. The eye is drawn first to the spilled bottle of grog beneath his left hand, then to the two, small bare feet sticking out to the right from under his robe, and finally to the child’s clothes – shirt, shorts, shoes, socks, underpants – neatly off to the side.

Many of the drawings are intensely personal, or more accurately, refer to intensely personal situations. In the page after the drawings above Leunig writes under another drawing of herself now, “But I’m post menopausal, and sex hurts … plus I’m not interested. AT ALL! THE END.” Early in the book there is a picture of her mother’s gravestone topped by a very angry angel. In a later series she attempts to visit her mother from whom she was estranged, and her brother in law calls the police. A year later she hears her mother is dead.

He early drawings always had her son and daughter tangled around her feet, but apparently as the kids got older they disliked what she drew and now they too are estranged (I have provided a link to a very open ABC interview). As she writes, “First I fucked up the kids. Then I fucked up Lois [dog]. And now I’ve fucked up the chooks! to be cont….”

There’s lots more. Lots of it sad. Lots I don’t understand. But every house should have a copy.

2-276449-Main-600x450-7.jpg

 

Mary Leunig, One Good Turn, Brow Books (an offshoot of The Lifted Brow), Melbourne, 2018

ABC interview (here)

12 thoughts on “One Good Turn, Mary Leunig

    • Leunig’s drawings interrogate her faults as well as her dreams, but that is different from being sorry for them. She draws her adult children in black shirts and jodphurs and later implies the problem is one or both of them married into wealthy families.

      Like

      • Hmm. I’ve heard of this happening a lot with authors, writing about their children and their children devastated by what’s revealed. I guess the creative urge trumps the feeling of wanting to protect your children from hurt.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve been looking forward to your next post. I didn’t know about Mary Leunig but worth looking out for from what you write. Creative people, sometimes, pay a heavy price.

    Like

  2. I wonder if drawing children, like this author, or telling stories about their children, like many stand-up comedians do, is any worse than all the embarrassing things I see on Facebook. Parents hanging little signs around their toddler necks with things like “I’m supposed to be potty training, but decided to practice my penmanship with my poo” or something like that.There is so much room to humiliate children in the internet age, and I’m so glad I grew up before it was ubiquitous. At most, my mom would tell some mortifying story about me while I stood right there and then said she was sorry in the most unapologetic voice ever. Still love you, Ma!

    Like

  3. I must say I do think parents should be careful about what they say/write/display publicly about their children. After all, you usually love your children and want to do what’s best for them. It’s a no-brainer it seems to me that you should be careful. It all comes down to that word power – parents are in a position of power over children and doing things which those children are powerless to change or affect, but which shows them in poor light or is likely to embarrass them later, is poor form I think. That said, a bit of embarrassment in intimate circles is a fair thing I agree!! Haha!

    On the other hand, when my kids were showing interest in writing, I braced myself to have stories told about me that might embarrass me. I felt that as the parent I was probably fair game BUT I hoped some kindness would prevail so it wouldn’t be too cruel! So far, though, those early ambitions haven’t eventuated!

    Anyhow, I enjoyed this write-up Bill. I do admire her honesty about uncomfortable things.

    BTW Don’t you like me any more! I’ve just noticed that I’m not in the list of blogs you follow. I could have sworn I once was!!

    Like

    • You’ve been down the bottom there so long I guess you dropped off while no one was looking – either that or I’ve exceeded the number I’m allowed to display. I hope it doesn’t mean I’ll miss this evening’s MM.

      Mary Leunig might be hard to get on with if she managed to estrange both her mother and her children. I can’t imagine kindness failing to prevail in the Gum household but perhaps that is not always true chez Leunig.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment